Gender Studies Network – Members

Homepage | News | Members | National Correspondents | Gallery | Basic Links

In order to join the Gender Studies Network please provide the following information. The form, together with an example clarifying possible ambiguities, can be obtained from:
Işil Baş isil@boun.edu.tr
Florence Binard
fbinard@eila.univ-paris-diderot.fr
Renate Haas
haas@anglistik.uni-kiel.de
María Socorro Suárez Lafuente
lafuente@uniovi.es

  • NAME (surname(s) in capital letters):
  • EMAIL ADDRESS:
  • HOMEPAGE (if available):
  • COUNTRY:
  • AFFILIATION:
  • DISCIPLINE (e.g., English):
  • SUBDISCIPLINE (e.g., Literature, Linguistics, History of Ideas, etc.):
  • GENDER STUDIES KEY AREAS OF INTEREST (max. 5):
  • GENDER STUDIES FIVE MAIN PUBLICATIONS (in English): 1. 2. 3. 4. 5

Download the new updated Directory of Members.


ESSE 16 MAINZ: GSN MEETING AND ACTIVITIES OF GSN MEMBERS

ROUND TABLES

1/ Gender Studies Network:
Wed, 31 Aug, 14:00-16:00, GFG-507

Convenors:
Işil Baş (Istanbul, isil@boun.edu.tr)
Florence Binard (Paris, fbinard@eila.univ-paris-diderot.fr)
Renate Haas (Kiel, haas@anglistik.uni-kiel.de)
María Socorro Suárez Lafuente (Oviedo, lafuente@uniovi.es)

The GSN meeting is meant as a get-together of all ESSE members interested in extending a gender perspective within and from our association. It will be the fifth in a row since Kosiče. First a very brief account will be given of what has been done so far (e.g. Internet presence with a Directory of Members, Gender Studies Gallery, etc.).
Timely topics:
Isabella Buniyatova (Kiev) “Gender Studies in Ukraine: The Beginnings and the Current State”;
Consequences of the pandemic, with focus on increased precarity for junior staff and counter-initiatives
(If submitted in advance, ideas can be circulated before the conference.)

SEMINARS

For details see https://online.flippingbook.com/view/935004389/

2/ Ancient Greeks and British Modernity:
Convenors:
Tamás Bényei (Debrecen, tamasbenyei@yahoo.com)
Tatjana Jukić (Zagreb, tjukic@m.ffzg.hr)

Tamás Bényei (Debrecen, tamasbenyei@yahoo.com):
“The Laurel Hedge Was Nothing but Itself”: Daphne in British Women’s Poetry

5/ British and Irish Poetry after the Turn of the Millennium: Trends, Public/ Counterpublic, Institutions:
Convenors:
Wolfgang Görtschacher (Salzburg, Wolfgang.Goertschacher@sbg.ac.at)
David Malcolm (Warsaw, dmalcolm.pl@gmail.com)

Julia Lajta-Novak (Vienna, julia.lajta-novak@univie.ac.at):
The Personal is Poetical: Spoken-word Poetry as Feminist Counter-Discourse 

11/ ‘Criminal Voice’ in Literature:
Convenors:
Isil Bas (Istanbul, isil@boun.edu.tr)
Anne Schwan (Edinburgh, a.schwan@napier.ac.uk)

Isil Bas (Istanbul, isil@boun.edu.tr):
The Curious Case of the Sultan and Sherlock Holmes: Crime Novel as the Voice of Ottoman Political Dissidence

18/ Gender in English Language Education: Current Trends and Future Perspectives:
Convenors:
Christian Ludwig (Berlin, christian.ludwig@fu-berlin.de)
Polina Shvanyukova (Udine, polina.shvanyukova@gmail.com)

Laura Diamanti (Cassino, l.diamanti@unicas.it):
English Gender Markedness in Translation: Raising Awareness in Foreign Language Teaching Context

Polina Shvanyukova (Udine, polina.shvanyukova@gmail.com):
Integrating Gender Perspectives through Digital Technology in English Language Education

20/ Hideous Progeny? Reanimations of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein:
Convenors:
Enrichetta Soccio (Chieti and Pescara, enrichetta.soccio@unich.it)
Seda Arıkan (Elazığ, bulutsedaarikan@gmail.com)
Patrick Hart (Ankara, patrick.hart@bilkent.edu.tr)
Yeşim İpekçi (Elazığ, yipekci@firat.edu.tr)

Seda Arıkan (Elazığ, bulutsedaarikan@gmail.com):
Geographies of Political Peace and Horror in Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and Frankenstein in Baghdad by Ahmad Saadawi

24/ Lockdown Literature: Past and Present Pandemic Paradigms:
Convenors:
Armela Panajoti (Vlora, armelap@assenglish.org)
Angelica Reichman (Eger, reichmanna@gmail.com)

Vassiliki Markidou (Athens, vmarkidou@enl.uoa.gr):
“The plague full swift goes by”: Modalities of Life and Death in Thomas Nashe’s “A Litany in Time of Plague”

26/ Modernism in Motion:
Convenors:
Virginia Richter (Bern, virginia.richter@unibe.ch)
Nóra Séllei (Debrecen, sellei.nora@arts.unideb.hu) 

Vera Eliášová (Vienna, eliasovav@ceu.edu):
Children’s Mobility in Katherine Mansfield’s Modernist Aesthetics

Matilde Martín González (San Cristóbal de La Laguna, mmartin@ull.edu.es):
Feminist Mobility in American Modernism: Challenging ‘A Man’s World’

Nóra Séllei (Debrecen, sellei.nora@arts.unideb.hu):
The Problematisation of Motion in Virginia Woolf’s The Years

29/ Over 100 Years Later: The Reception of Late 19th-century British and Irish Fiction in Europe:
Convenors:
Ebbe Klitgǻrd (Roskilde, ebbek@ruc.dk)
Alberto Lázaro (Madrid, alberto.lazaro@uah.es)

María Jesús Lorenzo-Modia (A Coruña, maria.lorenzo.modia@udc.es):
The Reception of Jospeh Conrad in Spanish: Connections with Latin America

32/ Reconceptualizing Violence against Women:
Convenors:
Işil Baş (Istanbul, isil@boun.edu.tr)
Florence Binard (Paris, fbinard@eila.univ-paris-diderot.fr)
Renate Haas (Kiel, haas@anglistik.uni-kiel.de)
María Socorro Suárez Lafuente (Oviedo, lafuente@uniovi.es)

Célia Atzeni (Paris, celia.atz@gmail.com):
The Reconceptualization of Violence against Women in United Nations Discourse between 1996 and 2019: A Corpus-based Study

37/ Suffering in Anglophone Literatures:
Convenors:
Charles I. Armstrong (Kristiansand, charles.armstrong@uia.no)
Martina Domines Veliki (Zagreb, mdomines@ffzg.hr)

Cristina Cruz Gutiérrez (Palma, cristina.cruz@uib.es):
Suffering for and with the Nigerian Nation in Ayǫbámi Adébáyǫ’s Stay with Me

38/ Technology-Enhanced Approaches, Models and Processes in English/ESP/CLIL/Translation Teaching and Learning:
Convenors:
Viviana Gaballo (Macerata, viviana.gaballo@unimc.it)
Éva Szabó (Budapest, szabo.eva@btk.elte.hu)

Simonetta Falchi (Sassari, sfalchi@uniss.it):
Trojan Learning in the Metaverse

40/ The Ethics of Attention in Contemporary Fiction:
Convenors:
Jean-Michel Ganteau (Montpellier, jean-michel.ganteau@univ-montp3.fr)
Susana Onega (Zaragoza, sonega@unizar.es)

Susana Onega (Zaragoza, sonega@unizar.es):
“The thing was to make herself invisible, she said”: Jon McGregor’s Reframing of the Norms of Perception of Working-Class Women in So Many Ways to Begin

44/ Translating and Analysing Charles Darwin and Darwinism in(to) European languages (1859-2022):
Convenors:
Michel Prum (Paris, prum.michel@wanadoo.fr)
Felix Sprang (Siegen, felix.sprang@uni-siegen.de)
Professor Heidi Verplaetse (Leuven, heidi.verplaetse@kuleuven.be)

46/ Victorian and Neo-Victorian Wasted Lives: Bodies that Do not Matter:
Convenors:
Maria Isabel Romero-Ruiz (Málaga, mirr@uma.es)
Simonetta Falchi (Sassari, sfalchi@uniss.it)Maria Isabel Romero-Ruiz (Málaga, mirr@uma.es)
Domesticating Fallen Women: Gender Violence and Detection in Lee Jackson’s A Metropolitan Murder 2004

Back to the GSN Homepage